Skip to content
January 4, 2015 / Matt Wilkinson

Big game coverage

Considering the level of football games I cover regularly, FA Cup Third Round day is a little higher profile than usual, so was more than happy to accept the Rochdale v Nottingham Forest fixture. I’ve been fairly unlucky with my choice of ends to take my position lately, so was happy when Rochdale went ahead with a penalty kick… even more so when the goalscorer celebrated directly in front of me, especially since there were no other photographers anywhere near me.
But, as is the way in sports photography, the media have all chosen one agencies’ pics, despite what I’d consider to be fairly average shots (see below, mine is on the left).
Rochdale AFC v Nottingham Forest FC. FA Cup Third Round. 03/01/2015. ©Media Image Ltd. FA Accredited. Premier League Licence No: PL14/15/P4864 Football League Licence No: FLGE14/15/P4864 Football Conference Licence No: PCONF 217/14 Tel +44(0)7974 568 85MOL
I guess it’s subjective about what makes a good editorial pic, or certain agencies are just hoovering up all the work… or it’s even just a case of sour grapes on my part!

Leave a comment